OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County
CATHY DARLING ALLEN
Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

June 4, 2015

The Honorable Ben Allen Chairman, Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments Committee State Capitol, Room 2054 Sacramento, CA 95814

AB 562 (HOLDEN) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Allen:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials wishes to advise you that it supports AB 562. This bill provides changes the precedence on the ballot for the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction by removing it from the partisan offices under the heading of STATE and placing it under a new heading of STATEWIDE EDUCATION.

We thank the author for graciously addressing the concerns we initially had concerning the bill's language.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Assembly Member Holden, Author

Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee

Cory Botts, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee